Principals of Reiki

Several years after developing concept of Reiki, Usui decided to add the Reiki Ideals. The Ideals, which came to Usui in a meditation, originated in part from the five principles of the Meiji emperor of Japan and were developed to add spiritual balance to the practice.

The principles help people recognize that healing the spirit by consciously deciding to improve oneself is a necessary part of the Reiki experience.


In order for the Reiki healing energies to have lasting results, the recipient must accept responsibility for their healing and take an active part in it. The Usui system of Reiki is more than the use of the Reiki energy – it also includes an active commitment to improve oneself in order for it to be a complete. The ideals are both guidelines for living a gracious life and virtues worthy of practice for their value.

The principles of Reiki are:​

  • Just for today, do not worry.

  • Just for today, do not anger.

  • Honor your parents, teachers and elders.

  • Earn your living honestly.

  • Show gratitude to every living thing.

The principles are simple, but not always easy to do. Beginning to practice these principles guides you toward a healthier way of thinking and feeling—which ultimately gives rise to a healthier body and a healthier way of life.